As the largest student-led energy conference in the U.S., the MIT Energy Conference has become a premier event to connect professionals, policymakers, academics, and students in the energy industry.

More changes have occurred in the global energy sector in the past decade than in the 100 years prior. In its 13th edition, the 2018 MIT Energy Conference explored enabling technologies for the future of clean energy, energy digitization, and existing energy infrastructure.

Each year we bring together leaders and visionaries from industry, government, the scientific community, and the private sector that are looking at the entire value chain in a holistic way and can speak about and debate the development of complex changes, which are redefining the future of energy worldwide.

Click here for recaps of the 2018 MIT Energy Conference keynote speakers and panels.

Keynote Speakers

Robert Armstrong - Director, MIT Energy Initiative

Tony Seba - Co-Founder, RethinkX

Varun Sivaram - Philip D. Reed Fellow for Science and Technology, Council on Foreign Relations

Mark Jacobson - Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Stanford University

Petter Skantze - Vice President of Corporate Development and Strategy, NextEra Energy

Jesse Jenkins - PhD candidate and Researcher, MIT's Institute for Data, Systems, and Society & the MIT Energy Initiative

Emily Reichert - Chief Executive Officer, Greentown Labs


Kathy Ayers - Vice President, R&D - Proton OnSite
Isaac Baker - Co-President - Resonant Energy
Tim Barckholtz - Senior Scientific Advisor, Corporate Strategic Research - ExxonMobil Research and Engineering
Paul Beaton (Moderator) - Senior Program Officer - National Academy of Sciences 
Fikile Brushett - Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering - MIT
William Bubenicek - CEO - ConnectM Technology Solutions
Scott Burger - PhD Candidate and Researcher - MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society & MIT Energy Initiative
Michael Casey (Moderator) - Senior Advisor, Digital Currency Initiative - MIT Media Lab
Belén Linares Corell - Innovation Director - Acciona
Daniel Dus - Head of Renewables - Adani Group
Temple Fennell (Moderator) - Managing Director - Clean Energy Venture Fund
Randall Field (Moderator) - Executive Director, Mobility of the Future - MIT Energy Initiative
James Gado (Moderator) - Senior Director - MIT Office of Corporate Relations
Charlie Gay - Director, Solar Energy Technologies Office - DOE
Andy Haun - Microgrids CTO - Schneider Electric, North America Operations
Howard J. Herzog (Moderator) - Senior Research Engineer - MIT Energy Initiative
Lin-Wen Hu - Director, Research & Services; Senior Research Scientist - MIT Nuclear Reactor Lab
Qichao Hu, Ph.D - Founder & CEO - Solid Energy Systems
Daniel Hullah - Managing Director - GE Ventures
Claire Broido Johnson - President - CBJ Energy
Mark Johnson - Research Professor - NC State University & the PowerAmerica Institute
Mak Joshi - Director of Product Strategy, EcoStruxure IoTvPlatform - Schneider Electric
Morris Kesler, Ph.D - Chief Technology Officer - WiTricity
Shazia Khan - Co-Founder & CEO - EcoEnergy
Andy Lubershane - Director of Research - Energy Impact Partners
Richard Matsui - Founder & CEO - kWh Analytics
Jeff McAulay - Co-Founder - Energetic Insurance
John D. McDonald - SmartGrid Business Development Leader - GE
Harvey Michaels (Moderator) - Energy Efficiency Lecturer and Research Scientist - MIT Center for Collective Intelligence
Sandhya Murali - Founder - Solstice
Lawrence Orsini - Founder - LO3 Energy
Omar Paganini - Director, Observatory for Energy and Sustainable Development - Catholic University of Uruguay
Sheldon Petersen - CEO - National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corp.
Tim Polega - Renewable Investment and Technology Leader - Saudi Arabia
Joseph B. Powell, Ph.D - Chief Scientist, Chemical Engineering - Shell
Tor Jakob Ramsoy - CEO and Founder - Arundo
Apurba Sakti - Research Scientist - MIT Energy Initiative
Bill Southworth - Managing Director - The Digital MicroGrid Initiative Corporation
Veronika Stelmakh - Postdoctoral Research Associate -MIT's Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies
Robert Trinnear - Managing Director, East - The Energy Authority
Caleb Waugh (Moderator) - Head of Business Analytics, Energy Storage - Lockheed Martin Energy
William Woodford - Co-Founder/CTO - Form Energy
James D. Worden - Partner - LightSpeed Energy
Edward Young (Moderator) - Director of Strategy - National Grid

Panel Topics

Click on a panel to view more details.


The 2018 MIT Energy Conference is proud to have Varun Sivaram's book Taming the Sun: Innovations to Harness Solar Energy and Power the Planet officially launched at the conference.