MIT Energy Conference 2017 Header.png

As the largest student-led energy conference in the US, the MIT Energy Conference has become a premier event to connect professionals, policymakers, academics, and students in the energy industry.

More changes have occurred in the global energy sector in the past decade than in the 100 years prior. In its 12th edition, the MIT Energy Conference explores changes in production and conversion, transmission and storage, and consumption with a focus on enabling the next energy paradigm.

We will bring together leaders and visionaries from industry, government, the scientific community, and the private sector that are looking at the whole value chain in a holistic way, and can speak about and debate the development of these complex changes, which are redefining the future of energy worldwide.

Friday, March 3rd, 2017

2017 Theme.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.32.39 PM.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.33.37 PM.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.36.18 PM.png

Saturday, March 4th, 2017

2017 Theme.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.44.34 PM.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.45.06 PM.png
Screenshot 2017-09-25 at 9.45.33 PM.png

Keynote Speakers

“The Changing Energy Paradigm – Indian Perspective”
Dharmendra Pradhan – Minister of State for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Indian Government

“The Role of Academic Institutions in Shaping the Future of Energy”
Maria Zuber - E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics and Vice President for Research, MIT

“Electricity Generation: Today and Tomorrow”
Ralph Izzo – CEO, PSEG

“Opportunity. Uncertainty. Risk.”
Sun Xiansheng – Secretary General, International Energy Forum

"The Energy Transition: Driving Innovation in Capital Intensive Energy-Science and –Engineering"
Dirk Smit - VP Exploration Technology, Shell

Opening Remarks

Friday March 3
Robert C. Armstrong - Director, MIT Energy Initiative

Saturday March 4
Martha Broad - Executive Director, MIT Energy Initiative


Alicia Barton - Counsel at Foley Hoag LLP, MA

Allan Alter – Senior Research Fellow, Accenture

Andre Ramirez - Principal Advisor, Southern California Edison

Andy Haun - CTO of Microgrids Business, Schneider Electric

Barbara Kates-Garnick - Professor in Practice, The Fletcher School Tufts

Belen Linares - Global R&D&Innovation Director, ACCIONA Energy

Ben Miller -  Director of Threat Operations, Dragos

Brian Gemmel - VP Strategy and Performance, National Grid

Caitlin Durkovich - Director, Toffler Associates

Carol Lee Rawn - Director of Transportation Program, Ceres

Charles Forsberg - Principal Research Scientist, MIT

Charles Freese - Executive Director, Fuel Cells, GM

Chet Lyons - Director, Energy Group & Canadian Solar

Christopher Barron - District Commander, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Chukwueloka Umeh – Executive Director, NestOil Limited

Dana Guernsey - Director of Corporate Development, Ambri

Daniel Hullah - Managing Director, GE Ventures

Donald Hoffman – CEO, Excel Services

Ian Wright - Partner, Deloitte Consulting

Jacob Susman – VP Head of Origination, EDF Renewable Energy

Jack Spencer - Vice President, The Heritage Foundation

Joanna Messing - Executive Director, Growald Family Fund

Joseph Lassiter - Senior Fellow, Senator John Heinz Professor of Management Practice in Environmental Management

Judith Judson – Commissioner, MA DoER

Julia Coff - Director of Client Solutions, EnergySavvy

Kunle Adeyemo – GM, Chevron Nigeria Limited

Lawrence Jones – VP International Programs, EEI

Lourdes Melgar - Former Deputy Secretary of Energy for Hydrocarbons, Mexico

Madhav Acharya - Technology-to-Market Advisor, Department of Energy's Advanced Research Projects Agency

Mak Joshi – Director IoT and Digital Transformation, Schneider Electric

Mark Johnson - Micro Grid Innovator, Schneider Electric

Mike Berlinski – Director of Emerging Technologies, CES

Mike Stanley - CEO, Transit X

Mike Tamor - Henry Ford Technical Fellow, Energy System Sustainability at Ford Motor Company

Nicholas Ashford - Professor of Technology and Policy, MIT

Paul Sheng – Senior Partner and Head of Global GEM Practice, McKinsey & Company

Robert Trinnear – Managing Director, The Energy Authority

Sarah Stotz - Director of Marketing, GE Power Systems

Seth Grae - President and CEO, Lightbridge

Sharon Chou- Data Scientist, FirstFuel Software

Shawn Murphy – Former Center Director, Shell TechWorks

Terence Sobolewski – CCO, National Grid

Thomas Brostrøm – General Manager at North America, DONG Energy Wind Power U.S.

Tibor Toth - Managing Director of Investments, MassCEC

Tim Echols – Commissioner, Georgia PSC

Tim Healy –  CEO and Chairman, EnerNOC

Tim Lukes - CEO, Unison Energy

Twarath Sutabutr – Director-General, Energy Policy and Planning Office


Gary Farha - CEO, Customer First Renewables

Henry Lee – Lecturer, HKS

Harvey Michaels - Lecturer, MIT Sloan

Ignacio Perez-Arriaga - Professor, MIT

Jed Bailey - Founder and Managing Director, Energy Narratives

Jessika Trancik - Professor, MIT

Jorge Calzada - Director of Core Processes, Advanced Data & Analytics, National Grid

Judy Chang - Director, Brattle Group

Ravi Manghani - Energy Storage Director, GTM Research

Robert Armstrong - Director, MITEI

Scott Burger - MIT PhD Candidate & PRIME Technology Investment Advisor

Scott Zimmermann - Attorney, Energy & Infrastructure Finance, WSGR